Tags

, , , ,

20111023-012120 em.jpg

One of the smaller differences that I have come across here in Sweden are some of my favorite apps that I used in the states every day. First off there is no Netflix, Crackle, or ABC Player to watch movies on my iPad nor are there any of my favorite streaming music apps; Pandora and Slacker Radio do not work when over seas. I guess I should have seen this coming but getting the message “This app is not supported in your region” really brought me back to earth or Stockholm should I say. If you live in Sweden you are probably going to tell me to download Spotify, however it may be free from a computer, but you do have to pay to use it on a smartphone iPhone and tablet iPad and right now I am not in the position to pay for such a luxury. Yeah I know I am a huge geek when it comes to these types of things, I guess if you knew me you’d already know that so what I’m saying is that not having these every utilities available on my trustee iCollection sucks.

The other day I was going through some of the apps on my iPhone (I do this from time to time to get rid of all of the apps I never use) and came across an app I downloaded over a year and a half ago and kept trying to convince myself I would someday use. iHeartRadio was the app and in a nutshell it lets you listen to radio stations all over The United States. I figured that having some hometown Colorado radio stations would be better than nothing so I opened it up to see if it would work in Europe. To my surprise this app has had a few updates since the last time I used it and not only does it let you stream Radio stations from 45 different states, it like Pandora or Slacker Radio, also let’s you create custom radio stations from almost any Artist out there; oh and it works in Sweden! Yeah I know you may be like who the hell cares but believe me this makes me happy. Actually Nadja was thinking the same thing when I told like 100 times that she needed it. She finally told me 3 nights ago “Ok whats the name of that app so I can finally download it so you’ll stop telling me I need it” hahaha but guess what? She hasn’t put it down! Nope I mean it she loves the fact that she can listen to radio stations from New York. To be exact she loves listening to New York’s Hip Hop and R&B station Power 105.1. She’s taking a shower as we speak and for some reason she still has her iPhone playing that station in our room. She loves it that much which I assume is a lot. πŸ™‚ So needless to say all is well in the listening to music department here in Sweden. I guess I can go back to fighting crime and saving lives. πŸ™‚

